Design a site like this with
Get started


Joy Kogawa Award for Fiction

Surrey Muse Art & Literature Awards

Each year, Joy Kogawa Award for Fiction will choose a Short List of six entries to determine First, Second and Third Place winners. The First-Place winner will receive a $1000 award while the Second and Third Place winners will receive Honorable Mention.

The copyright for winning entries will remain with the writers while some of the winning entries may be published on SMAS webpages and social media outlets.

Eligibility Criteria

Surrey Muse Arts Society (SMAS) is committed to inclusivity and equality, and it wishes to create opportunities for everyone in the arts communities regardless of race, ethnicity, social or economic status, gender, disability, sexuality, religion, or any other similarly restrictive category. In accordance, we specifically encourage people of colour, LGBTQ+, disabled, and financially challenged writers to participate.

The SMAS is a secular organization that is neither against a religion nor it is in favour of any.

In accordance with this policy, works containing prejudice based on race, class/caste, gender, religion, sexuality, disability, and ageism will not be considered.

The Awards are open to Canadian citizens, members of Indigenous nations, landed immigrants, permanent residents, refugee applicants, and international students in Canada.

All applicants must reside in Canada at the time of submitting their work. Canadian citizens living, working, or studying abroad are not eligible to apply.

An applicant may apply to more than one Surrey Muse award. Multiple submissions to each award are allowed.

Simultaneous submissions are acceptable.

Members of SMAS Board of Directors, Literary Advisors, this year’s volunteers, paid workers, and advisors to Surrey Muse Awards program are not eligible to apply.

Submission Guidelines

Send a maximum of 10 pages, not exceeding 2700 words, of your original, unpublished (print or online) fiction in .doc, .docx, or .pdf format.

Use 12pt Times New Roman on a double-spaced page. Send short stories, flash fiction, excerpts from novels. If sending more than one item, start each at a new page.

Submissions in French and other languages are welcome with their English translations.

When you submit:

• Your document should be labelled only with the title of your work. Do not include your name or any personal details in the document’s file.

The file name should be the title of the first item in your submission.  

• Provide your name, address, and phone number in your email message.

• Pay the $25-$10-FREE entry fee as suggested at the following link:

• Include the confirmation number in your email message, and enter the amount in the Subject Line of your message as follows:

– If you are financially comfortable, pay $25 and write: ‘Joy Kogawa Award – $25’

– If not as comfortable, pay $10 and write: ‘Joy Kogawa Award – $10’

If financially-challenged at present, do not pay and write: ‘Joy Kogawa Award – FREE’

• The entry fee will not be returned in any event.

Attach a maximum of 10 pages of text file to your email message and send to:

Please note that the judges will only receive your work, not the payment details.

By submitting to this award, you are complying with the eligibility requirements and submission guidelines as stated above.

Submissions open from: June 1, 2022
Submissions end on: August 15, 2022
Awards will be announced: October 28, 2022
Awards Ceremony: Friday, November 25, 2022

The First-Place winners of the five awards will present their winning entries and will
have Q&A with the participants.
Out of town winners will participate via Skype.

The Judging Process

A member of SMAS Board of Directors will check all entries to determine compliance with Eligibility Criteria and Submission Guidelines. The compliant entries will be sent to an independent Judge and two Jury Members (a member of SMAS team, and a community volunteer, both familiar with and/or working in the field of fictional writings). The Judge and the two Jury Members will independently select six Short List entries each. The Judge, in consultation with the two Jury Members, will determine the First, Second and Third place winners. The Judge’s decision will be final and unchallengeable.
Judge and Jury Members
Cathleen With, Judge
Hannah McReady, Jury Member
Fauzia Rafique, Jury Member (SMAS)

Dedicated to Joy Kogawa

Joy Kogawa is a novelist, YA writer and poet born in 1935 to Japanese Canadian parents in Vancouver. During WWII, in 1942, young Joy and her family were evicted from their home and forced to move to an internment camp, an aggression suffered at the time by some 22,000 Japanese Canadians. Years later, Joy challenged this historic injustice in a profound and masterful exposition: her 1981 novel, Obasan. Her art compelled public recognition of this issue, highlighting the power of the written word. Later, her ancestral home was developed as a writers residence called the Historic Joy Kogawa House. Joy was made a Member of the Order of Canada in 1986, a Member of the Order of British Columbia in 2006, and in 2010, she received the Order of the Rising Sun from Japan. We dedicate the Fiction Award to Joy Kogawa to express our awe for her disarmingly simple yet utterly profound art of storytelling.

Surrey Muse Arts Society (SMAS)

Surrey Muse is an interdisciplinary art and literature presentation group that was founded by four artists of Color in Surrey in November 2011. Mandated to inclusivity and equality, it held 3-hour salon-style monthly gatherings featuring authors, poets and artist/performers, with discussions and open mic sessions till March 2019 when it went virtual due to COVID-19 restrictions. In 2016, for its fifth anniversary, two additional programs were introduced: Surrey Muse At Large and Surrey Muse Writers. The group registered itself as Surrey Muse Arts Society (SMAS) in 2019, and it operates from the unceded Coast Salish territories of the Semiahmoo, Katzie, Kwikwetlem, Kwantlen, Qayqayt, Tsawwassen, Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations.

This document is developed in consultation with
Novelist/Editor Shashi Bhat
Author/Editor Darcie Freisen Hossack

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close